Introduction
Hi. I'm an 11 year old girl in Grade 6. I'm from Egypt but live in Canada. I am proudly a muslim. All my life, I've loved writing. When I was less than 4 years old, my mother introduced me to Microsoft Powerpoint. I started to make "books" on it. When I started school, my love for writing just grew. But from kindergarten to Grade 3, I had something called Selective Mutism. In Junior Kindergarten, I wouldn't talk to my teacher. I was completely silent. I don't know what caused me to be like that. As the years went on, I would whisper and only talk to my friends aloud. I had therapy, but even the therapist couldn't solve the problem. So I did. I gathered the little courage I had and finally decided to transfer schools. I'm much more comfortable in the school I'm in right now. I talk out loud, have the best friends in the world, and have the best teachers a girl could ask for. I have given it some thought and realized. I love saying my opinion. I love hearing other's opinions. Being a journalist is the job for me. Now I don't know if my dreams will change, but for now, I want to make the most of this dream.
Friday, 26 December 2014
♩ ♬ ❅ ❆ Let It Go ❅ ❆ ♪ ♫
Recently, I have started to paint more. It's fun. I enjoy painting because I get to express my emotions in my art. I don't paint to make money. I paint to show people what goes on in my mind. Sometimes, my feelings are well guarded. In a painting I called Flight of the Thunderbirds, it expresses all the emotions I was feeling when I painted it. I originally painted a few simple seagulls, like the ones you probably drew as a kid. That m shaped thing? That's it. Then, I splattered different colours, angry and sad colours, on to them as if they don't know which direction to go because they can't see. It was based on how I felt like I couldn't please everyone. I couldn't choose. The red represented how angry I was that certain people didn't treat me the way I felt like I should be treated. The blue represented how confused I was about what to do and how depressed I felt. To this day, I still don't know why I just can't deal with decision making. When it's something simple, I can easily pick. But when it's bigger, you'd think I'd be able to decide but instead, it feels as if I'm carrying a weight on my shoulders and I'm pressured to decide. When I talk about my problems to someone, it feels as if they're helping me carry the weight on my shoulders. Sometimes, it feels as if the weight completely disappears. I guess the moral of this not-so-story is that you shouldn't hold in what's bothering you. Let it go.
Tuesday, 9 December 2014
Help the Homeless
When I walk through the streets of Canadian cities, they all have some things in common. Like people without homes sitting against a wall with a Tim Hortons cup in their hands waiting for someone to notice them. Nearly everyone does. But nearly everyone tries to ignore them. They are humans too! If you don't want to give them money, at least smile or say hello. You can't ignore them like they're some sort of animal. Because they're not. Whatever reason they have for needing money is not important. They have lives. It could make their day just for you to smile or give them money. You could offer to take them to a shelter. Anything but leave them the same way you saw them. A smile can make someone's day. My mother always told me never to ignore them. So listen to the wise, old woman (Sorry mom!). She's experienced plenty and I'd love to have her be writing with me right now. The Canadian government is also trying to stop poverty but it isn't so easy. They need US to help them. We can help change lives if we just stopped and donated money, or clothes or even food. We can help others in need even if they are at the other side of this planet. I'm asking all of you to please take some time to donate to charities. Together, we can help bring back World Peace. It existed once. It can exist again.
Saturday, 29 November 2014
Injustice
Apologies if my opinion on this situation offends you.
I had writers block today. Then suddenly, it all clicked. I believe you are familiar with Hosni Mubarak? Former president of Egypt. A real jerk if you ask me. I'm not too happy about the current president either, or the brain washing government and media. Let's just get back to Mubarak. In 2011, The Egyptian Revolution was all over the news. Many people joined the protests here in Canada. My family went to protest. I had made quite a few posters. Here's one of them. It says "Thousands of people V.S. 1 Hosni Mubarak"
It was pretty clear all the Egyptians saw him as a horrible president back then. When the revolution ended and Mubarak decided to resign, we were happy. More than happy. We knew we had succeeded. The Egyptians joined as one against Mubarak. What happened? Now they're all fighting over what's right and what's wrong that they forgot how they had protected each other back in 2011. Mubarak was sent to jail. Then we got a new president. He didn't do much to us. He was forced to resign and we got another president. This guy, El-Sisi, wants everyone to love him. He's literally obsessed with money. He makes tv channels praise him and if they even say 1 thing that bothers him, that tv channel would be like it never existed. As our friends in the U.K would probably say...
Gotta agree with them. El-Sisi is making opinions illegal. Even worse, the Egyptians seem to have forgotten all the pain they went through to get rid of Mubarak because at his trial, he was declared innocent.
If I remember correctly, he was the one who threw the tear gas at the protesters, right? He was the one who ordered people to kill the protesters, right? That doesn't seem like innocent to me. Innocent is someone who would never kill someone else for money or take things that aren't rightfully theirs.
Let me just remind you. Doesn't the government of Egypt still lock up and torture the people who disagree with the president? Looks like the government isn't too innocent either.
I just hate Mubarak so much. He helped create this mess. Or was it already there in the first place? I guess I'll never know. As a daughter, I would beat up anyone who makes my mother cry. How am I going to get to the Egyptian government? Egypt deserves JUSTICE. We have to do something about this. Some people are getting divorced because their spouse has different political views. Stupid? I think so, too. I wish things were different. I wish things were fair.
I had writers block today. Then suddenly, it all clicked. I believe you are familiar with Hosni Mubarak? Former president of Egypt. A real jerk if you ask me. I'm not too happy about the current president either, or the brain washing government and media. Let's just get back to Mubarak. In 2011, The Egyptian Revolution was all over the news. Many people joined the protests here in Canada. My family went to protest. I had made quite a few posters. Here's one of them. It says "Thousands of people V.S. 1 Hosni Mubarak"
It was pretty clear all the Egyptians saw him as a horrible president back then. When the revolution ended and Mubarak decided to resign, we were happy. More than happy. We knew we had succeeded. The Egyptians joined as one against Mubarak. What happened? Now they're all fighting over what's right and what's wrong that they forgot how they had protected each other back in 2011. Mubarak was sent to jail. Then we got a new president. He didn't do much to us. He was forced to resign and we got another president. This guy, El-Sisi, wants everyone to love him. He's literally obsessed with money. He makes tv channels praise him and if they even say 1 thing that bothers him, that tv channel would be like it never existed. As our friends in the U.K would probably say...
Gotta agree with them. El-Sisi is making opinions illegal. Even worse, the Egyptians seem to have forgotten all the pain they went through to get rid of Mubarak because at his trial, he was declared innocent.
If I remember correctly, he was the one who threw the tear gas at the protesters, right? He was the one who ordered people to kill the protesters, right? That doesn't seem like innocent to me. Innocent is someone who would never kill someone else for money or take things that aren't rightfully theirs.
Let me just remind you. Doesn't the government of Egypt still lock up and torture the people who disagree with the president? Looks like the government isn't too innocent either.
I just hate Mubarak so much. He helped create this mess. Or was it already there in the first place? I guess I'll never know. As a daughter, I would beat up anyone who makes my mother cry. How am I going to get to the Egyptian government? Egypt deserves JUSTICE. We have to do something about this. Some people are getting divorced because their spouse has different political views. Stupid? I think so, too. I wish things were different. I wish things were fair.
Friday, 28 November 2014
Thank You Mom & Dad
Wow it's been a while hasn't it? Yeah. I'm not too good with schedules...
Okay. So today, I'd like to say thank you to the people who raised me, my parents. They're constantly pushing me to do my best. They help me with homework and I know that I can always go to them when I have a problem. I know sometimes I can be a little rude to them and sometimes we'll get in fights but in the end, I love them. They taught me to walk. They taught me to talk. They taught me manners and are always teaching me new things. They're on their feet all day doing things to support our family and they never get to rest. Even when they come back home from work. They're not paid to cook for us. They're not paid to do anything for us. But they still do it. I don't know how I'll ever thank them for all they've done for me. They completely supported me in all my decisions. I know this was really short but here's why I wrote it.
Most teenagers feel that they're ready for independence. They think they know everything. They don't. Our parents are wiser. They are humans too. Fighting with them won't get you anywhere. It'll only hurt their feelings. We have to take the time and thank them. We have to take the time and tell them we love them. Someday, they won't be here to help us when we need them the most. Let's make the most of the time we have left with them.
And remember.
Don't raise your voice on the people who taught you how to talk.
Okay. So today, I'd like to say thank you to the people who raised me, my parents. They're constantly pushing me to do my best. They help me with homework and I know that I can always go to them when I have a problem. I know sometimes I can be a little rude to them and sometimes we'll get in fights but in the end, I love them. They taught me to walk. They taught me to talk. They taught me manners and are always teaching me new things. They're on their feet all day doing things to support our family and they never get to rest. Even when they come back home from work. They're not paid to cook for us. They're not paid to do anything for us. But they still do it. I don't know how I'll ever thank them for all they've done for me. They completely supported me in all my decisions. I know this was really short but here's why I wrote it.
Most teenagers feel that they're ready for independence. They think they know everything. They don't. Our parents are wiser. They are humans too. Fighting with them won't get you anywhere. It'll only hurt their feelings. We have to take the time and thank them. We have to take the time and tell them we love them. Someday, they won't be here to help us when we need them the most. Let's make the most of the time we have left with them.
And remember.
Don't raise your voice on the people who taught you how to talk.
Tuesday, 18 November 2014
Forgiveness
Something not everyone wants to give in to. It's easier than being away from a family member for years because of a disagreement. Actually, forgiveness is what's keeping my friendships alive. We get into disagreements but how long do they last? Less than an hour. The longest they've lasted is at least a day but that was a special case. Anyways, I've always chosen forgiveness over losing someone. It's hard when you're on the other end of the situation. I have a bit of a problem. I did something to someone as a prank but they saw it differently. It's been a few years, we haven't talked. Then one day, I find her on a website and don't know how to talk to her. I've apologized but I never really got a straight answer on whether or not I was forgiven. I've always assumed she didn't forgive me. I want to send her a message so badly but I don't know what to say. Forgiveness would be nice, but I guess I don't really deserve it.
I want to ask you adults. Why do you get in fights that last for years? What's the point? Forgiveness is just waiting for you on the other side of the door but you decided to walk past that door. Why? I've opened that door tons of times and it's been opened for me as well. After apologizing I always feel so much better. Same with forgiving. After forgiving, I always feel much better. I'd rather have that person as a friend than ignore and forget them. I like making new memories instead of remembering old memories wondering if I did the right thing. Being a kid is so much easier because forgiveness comes first before proving someone wrong or wanting to show off. I wish it was that easy for adults but hey! You're wiser (in most cases). If you chose to hurt someone's feelings instead, your choice. I'm just trying to get you to see the obvious. I found the perfect quote for this.
"It's tough when someone special starts to ignore you, but it's even tougher to pretend that you don't mind when you really do."
Keep that in mind next time you decide to ignore someone.
I want to ask you adults. Why do you get in fights that last for years? What's the point? Forgiveness is just waiting for you on the other side of the door but you decided to walk past that door. Why? I've opened that door tons of times and it's been opened for me as well. After apologizing I always feel so much better. Same with forgiving. After forgiving, I always feel much better. I'd rather have that person as a friend than ignore and forget them. I like making new memories instead of remembering old memories wondering if I did the right thing. Being a kid is so much easier because forgiveness comes first before proving someone wrong or wanting to show off. I wish it was that easy for adults but hey! You're wiser (in most cases). If you chose to hurt someone's feelings instead, your choice. I'm just trying to get you to see the obvious. I found the perfect quote for this.
"It's tough when someone special starts to ignore you, but it's even tougher to pretend that you don't mind when you really do."
Keep that in mind next time you decide to ignore someone.
Monday, 17 November 2014
Schedule?
Ok guys. So I've given it some thought and I'm only going to post if something worth talking about crosses my mind and/or on weekends.
Sunday, 16 November 2014
The Power of Women
I've seen enough old arabic movies to know that the men are always the heroes. But why? Are men better than women? I remember in one movie, the girl was cornered by a man. The ground was filled with rocks. She could've easily thrown one at him but nooooooooo. A man had to rescue her. In almost every Disney movie, the prince saves the princess. Only the newer movies actually have the women taking action. But why have women always been portrayed as weak? Honestly, it's just like how everyone thinks that cats are afraid of dogs. That's been proven wrong.
I've even read some books that always have the man saving the women. However, I've read just as many that have situations where the woman saves the man. It gets you thinking. Who was the first person to say that women aren't persons? A few years back, when I visited Ottawa, I saw this statue. Brightened my day.
In case you're not able to see what's written, it says 'women are persons...'. I still can't believe that at one point in time, women had so many more restrictions. What I really can't believe is that they STILL get paid less than men. Not by much, but still less. We do just as well as men when we work. Maybe even better. Yet we still don't get as much. It's really not fair. What can we do about it? I actually have no idea. Don't ask me! I'm a kid! So here's where you guys come in to the story. Comment down your ideas. When I was still active on my youtube channel, I loved hearing from my fans. This isn't any different. I wanna know what you think. Just make sure you're logged in to your google account and you're all set to comment!
I've even read some books that always have the man saving the women. However, I've read just as many that have situations where the woman saves the man. It gets you thinking. Who was the first person to say that women aren't persons? A few years back, when I visited Ottawa, I saw this statue. Brightened my day.
In case you're not able to see what's written, it says 'women are persons...'. I still can't believe that at one point in time, women had so many more restrictions. What I really can't believe is that they STILL get paid less than men. Not by much, but still less. We do just as well as men when we work. Maybe even better. Yet we still don't get as much. It's really not fair. What can we do about it? I actually have no idea. Don't ask me! I'm a kid! So here's where you guys come in to the story. Comment down your ideas. When I was still active on my youtube channel, I loved hearing from my fans. This isn't any different. I wanna know what you think. Just make sure you're logged in to your google account and you're all set to comment!
Saturday, 15 November 2014
Body Shaming
Today's topic is all about body shaming, or should I say 'All About That Bass'. Great song by Meghan Trainor, but is it body shaming? Many people disagree, but I think it is. Don't get me wrong, I love the song and I love the meaning behind it but Meghan's lyric Go ahead and tell them skinny ******* that is a bit... too much. Is it right to point about people's shapes and sizes? Absolutely not. Especially young girls who are already covering their faces with makeup thinking they aren't beautiful enough.Why must we have such little self esteem? Girls should be proud of themselves. If we're too busy trying to be fake to attract and impress men, when are we going to find the time to be ourselves? To accept ourselves? To love ourselves?
I have a question. Why do we care so much about how we look? A long time ago, I used to watch a show called 'Berenstain Bears'. I would read their books as well. In one of the books, the mother bear is washing a whole bunch of apples. Perhaps this page rings a bell?
The sister picked out a "funny shaped" apple telling her mother it must be filled with insects from the inside. The mother simply cut it in half. It was fine. The mother then picked out a perfect looking apple and cut it in half. It was was filled with worms. I guess what I'm trying to say is that it's the inside that matters. Some people may be perfect looking on the outside but have many flaws on the inside. Some people will have flaws on the outside but be perfect on the inside. In the end, whoever I'm going to marry will see me perfect on the inside and outside. So why should I try and change how I look? I'm not even going to try to be "perfect" because my loved ones are going to see me that way even if I have flaws.
As Meghan Trainor once said
Every inch of you is perfect from the bottom to the top.
Here's an amazing cover/parody by Natty Valencia. Natty changed some of the lyrics so they don't judge people as much. Click here to watch it.
Friday, 14 November 2014
First Post- I'm Just a Kid
So, my first post. Probably going to be filled with spelling errors. And you'll be all like:
"spleendidd! this kid Is grammitakily Incorrect and spellz roNg."
Don't worry. My friends always go to me for spelling. I'm quite experienced. And if I do make a mistake, I've got my friend Autocorrect to help me. I'll bet the first thing you want to know is why I chose 'don't ask me, I'm a kid' as the name of my blog. It's because of something that never quite bothered me so much before. However, it tore my sisters apart. My oldest sister and my middle sister used to get along until my oldest sister began to tell my middle sister that she was "too young to understand". She didn't realize how much that hurt. Nor did I. But then someone I trusted said it to me. I saw my sister crying. What am I expected to do? Of course I'm going to try and calm her down. Right after I find out what's going on, that is. I worry about my siblings. That's what family does. But apparently, 11 isn't mature enough to know what's bothering someone so they know what exactly to say. So if I go to some crying adult and ask what's bothering them, I'm not allowed to know. Well, sometimes, I know what's bothering you but just don't want to reveal that because I'm "just a kid" or "too young to understand". Okay. Well, I guess I won't come to you when I have a problem because you're TOO OLD to understand. It's a proven fact that telling people what's bothering you actually makes you feel better. But if you want to keep crying, I understand. I'm a careless kid who only spends her time on the computer. I've never had any problems that relate to you in any way. Yea. I'm a kid. You have a question? Too bad. I'm a kid. Why ask me? Why tell me? Why want me to make you feel better?
Because I'm a kid. I have problems as well. I might have gone through what you went through, just earlier. Why ask me? Because I have an opinion. And my opinion matters. I know what you feel. I get in fights with friends. So do you. Just like my family try and protect me, I try and protect them. I've comforted friends and family. Why can't I comfort you? Oh that's right. I'm just a kid. I don't know how you feel because I'm just a kid.
Just let me remind you. I'm a kid. My fights don't last long because my friendship is pure. Yes. We have arguments. But I'm a kid. We get over things faster. We accept everyone. Unlike you adults who get in fights that last for years. We don't argue about each other's opinions. Unlike you adults, who will insult your loved ones if they disagree with you. Guess what? Yes. I have friends who believe in different things. I would never dream of hurting them in any way just because of what they believe. I'm just a kid. Life is more simple. Life is better.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)


